Funders & Partners



CMT Board

CMT’s Board of Directors is comprised of respected, seasoned advisers with a wealth of experience. They represent key areas of expertise such as health, finance and media production.

CMT is governed by its Board of Directors comprising of:

Lucilla BlankenbergLucilla Blankenberg: Lucilla is the Executive Director of Community Media Trust and has served on the board since 2012. She is responsible for good governance, strategic planning, fundraising, day to day management and building of partnerships. With media production as her field of expertise, Lucilla is the director and producer of most of the media created and produced at CMT.

Deena BoschDeena Bosch: Deena was appointed Project Manager at Black Sash in August 2014. Previously she worked as a senior staff member at the Treatment Action Campaign (TAC). Deena has also served as a Director of Ditikeni Investment Company Limited since February, 2013. She is on the Board of HWB Communications and serves as a Member of the Board of Social Change Assistance.

David CoetzeeDavid Coetzee: David is an Associate Professor at the School of Public Health and Family Medicine of University of Cape Town and is a Senior Specialist on Health Impact Assessment at the Health Department of the Government of the Western Cape. He is an affiliate member of the Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine at the University of Cape Town.

Nombulelo Madala-WitbooiNombulelo Madala-Witbooi: Nombulelo is a medical doctor and HIV Clinician.  She is presently a registrar in Psychiatry training to become a Psychiatrist.  She is based at the East London Mental Health Unit of Cecilia Makiwane Hospital in Mdantsane in the Eastern Cape.

Lihle MtamboLihle Mntambo (neé Dlamini): Lihle (CHAIR) lives openly with HIV and holds PLHIV and women issues very close to her heart. She joined TAC as a volunteer in 2002 and went through the ranks to become the Deputy General Secretary in 2010. In 2013 Lihle joined the AIDS Foundation of SA where she works as the Programme Coordinator. Lihle has a Diploma in Travel and Tourism and a Certificate in Intellectual Property and Access to Medicines (UKZN). 2015 saw her starting part time studies at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Howard College to obtain her LLB.

Nisha NaidooNisha Naidoo: Nisha has more than 20 years’ experience in the local and international film and television industries. She has a MBA Degree from Manchester Business School in the UK, with a specialisation in the Business of Entertainment from the School of Cinematic Arts and Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles. She studied film financing, distribution, marketing, new technologies and agenting with Hollywood studio and industry professionals. She also has a Masters of Fine Arts Degree in Film and Video Production from York University in Toronto, Canada.

Jill PointerJill Pointer: Jill is an accounting and taxation specialist and a financial management consultant to NGOs and community organisations. Jill is an Associate of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administra­tors. She has carried out audits and provides accounting, financial management and taxation services and support.


CMT is managed by its two Co-Directors – Lucilla Blankenberg and Debbie Van Zyl.

Lucilla BlankenbergLucilla Blankenberg: Lucilla received her BA in Communications in 1999 from UNISA and has been working at CMT since 2001. She was appointed Director in 2012. She is the director of the award-winning A Country for My Daughter and has developed and worked on multiple health educational media campaigns about HIV and AIDS, TB, gender based violence, NCD, MMC, breastfeeding and teenage pregnancy. She is the Co-Director of Amaza, a drama series aired on SABC 1 in 2014 and of JAB, a drama series filmed in 2015.

Debbie Van ZylDebbie van Zyl: Debbie holds a Master of Public Health and a Bachelor of Science. She joined CMT in 2008, contributing her epidemiological and public health skills to the media and campaigns developed and implemented by Community Media Trust. Debbie heads up CMT’s Outreach programmes and was appointed Co-Director of CMT in 2014.

Lucilla and Debbie are supported by:

  • Jane Dearman: Finance Manager
  • Carmelita Petersen: Human Resources Manager
  • Jonathan Cockburn: Outreach Programmes Manager
  • Jann Acutt: Media Programmes Manager
  • Laddie Bosch:  Post Production Manager
  • Lerato Maloka: KwaZulu-Natal Coordinator
  • Thabisile Dlamini: EThekwini District Coordinator
  • Zanenkosi Mpofu: East London / Eastern Cape Coordinator


Please download and complete this fillable PDF form when applying for all vacancies at Community Media Trust.








CMT currently have no vacancies available.